cjd.weblog.lol

Skill Games

I try to disconnect from the world by playing video games. I always feel guilty that it's a complete waste of my time, but I know if I was forcing myself to be creative or productive, I'd be miserable and burned out. Or I'd spend a lot more time watching things or reading books instead – which people don't tend to sneer at as a pastime.

I probably spend about an hour playing most days. A bit longer on the weekends. But I'm starting to feel fatigued. I enjoy playing AAA titles, the story-driven single player games that have been crafted by thousands of people over many years, but there's only really a handful of those released a year which I would want to play, or would interest me.

The rest of the time, I'll be playing racing games, or other sports games. Maybe a first-person shooter, or even a fighting game with my most-recent purchase Street Fighter 6. Things you can pick up and play in a short bursts of time. The problem is, these are all games that require you to 'git gud'. Really hone your skills and take real effort and dedication – which is why each are all considered eSports.

I really don't have the time, inclination or effort to improve. It's perhaps made worse by the variety of games I enjoy playing – but the key word is enjoy. Such games have a limit as to what you can usually do as a single player, and even at times there's huge skill gaps or infuriatingly-scripted AIs designed to peg you back. The alternative is the toxicity of online multiplayer where you'll instantly have your arse handed to you wondering why you even bother. The excellent Tony Hawk's Pro Skater games are probably the only exception.

I don't mind a bit of a challenge, but I play to unwind. There's no fun in constantly losing–I'm developing anger issues, but at the same time, gliding through effortlessly is boring. The real world is hard enough and "getting good at Call of Duty" really isn't high up on my list of priorities. Taking a break from those sorts of games is probably the best thing to do.

Fortunately that should be quite straightforward. With the upcoming releases of Like a Dragon: Infinite Wealth, Final Fantasy VII Rebirth, and possibly replaying The Last of Us Part II Remastered too, that should tide me over for a while.


Recent posts